Open burning ban in effect for Union Twp.


Due to the extremely dry conditions in Fayette County, the Union Township Trustees have authorized their fire safety inspector, Edward Helt, to discontinue the issuance of open burning permissions.

The ban will be effective immediately, according to the trustees, and will continue at least until the end of November and will depend on future weather conditions.

This time period also coincides with a regulation of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry, that prohibits open burning during March, April, May, October and November between the hours of 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Local regulations require that open burning fires “shall be extinguished before sundown.”

Regulations for open burning are established by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency and are allowed only in the unrestricted areas in Ohio. In Union Township, the unrestricted area is a minimum of one mile from the corporation limits of Washington Court House, and 1,000 feet from an inhabited building on an adjacent property.

Open burning of certain types of materials, as defined by the EPA, means the burning of a pile that exceeds three feet wide by three feet long by two feet high. The local fire authority may issue permission for most kinds of open burning, and others may require written permission by the EPA.

The Record-Herald

No posts to display