Ogan awards scholarships to Miami Trace FFA students


Dave Ogan and Carroll Halliday Ford-Lincoln Dealership are celebrating their 85th year in Washington Court House and this year marks $35,000 in scholarships to local students.

Ogan and Carroll Halliday Ford-Lincoln Dealership has teamed up with the National FFA Foundation in this special effort in supporting local Miami Trace FFA seniors by sponsoring $1,000 scholarships annually. Ogan and Carroll Halliday began their contribution in 1998 by offering one $1,000 scholarship in the inaugural year. This year will mark $35,000 in scholarships that have been given to Miami Trace students through the support of Ogan and Carroll Halliday Ford.

The National FFA Scholarship program funding is secured from individuals, businesses and corporations like Ogan and Carroll Halliday Ford-Lincoln Dealership. The National FFA Foundation announced 1,883 scholarships were awarded through the National FFA Organization’s scholarship program this year. Currently, 115 sponsors contribute more than $2.7 million to support scholarships for students.

The National FFA Foundation awarded two Miami Trace high school seniors with scholarships for the 2016-17 Built Ford Tough National FFA Scholarship Program.

Makayla Eggleton, from New Holland, was the recipient of a $1,000 scholarship. Eggleton intends to study animal science at the Ohio State University for a future career in veterinary pharmacy or pediatrics. She was ranked ninth in her senior class with a GPA of 3.86.

Eggleton wrote, “Although my parents are willing to provide some financial assistance my FFA experiences and skills make me a strong and determined individual willing to work hard for my goals.”

Cole Robert Karnes, from Washington Court House, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship. Karnes is ranked 14th in his senior class with a GPA of 3.8. Karnes intends to study at the University of Cincinnati to become a local agricultural entrepreneur, and wrote, “This scholarship is one of the first steps in achieving my dreams and giving back to the community that brought me up.”

Proud sponsor of FFA since 1948, Ford is the largest corporate sponsor of collegiate scholarships to FFA members. Since 1997, the amount awarded is more than $8 million. Ford Trucks is proud of its 67-year history of FFA support. Four hundred $1,000 scholarships are expected to be awarded in local communities along with their participating Ford dealers.

Applicants must be FFA members who plan to enroll in a full-time course of study at any accredited two-year or four-year college, university, or vocational school next fall. Applicants are evaluated on the basis of scholarship, supervised agricultural program and leadership activities.

Past Carroll Halliday Ford Scholarship winners are Bethany Reiterman and Riley Evans in 2016, Natalie Miller and Abbie Noble in 2015, Molly Garringer and Katie Frost in 2014, Sam MacGregor and Jessica Little in 2013, Rachel McClish and Sarah Peterson in 2012, Mary Mosny and Aaron Sollars in 2011, and Trey Climer in 2010.


Submitted article

Content provided by Dave Ogan and Carroll Halliday Ford-Lincoln Dealership and the National FFA Foundation

No posts to display