Highlighting the Scioto Paint Valley MHC Board of Trustees


Scioto Paint Valley Mental Health Center (SPVMHC) is a comprehensive community mental health agency providing a continuum of services addressing the mental health and substance abuse needs of the area it serves.

Community members from each of the five counties function as its board of trustees, which is responsible for developing and overseeing policies of the organization. Three members represent Fayette County.

Fonda Fichthorn became interested in community mental health as a crisis volunteer and has been a member of the SPVMHC Board of Trustees since 2000. She currently serves as the board treasurer. A graduate of Otterbein College and Wright State University, she retired from Miami Trace Local School District where she had been a teacher and an elementary principal. Fonda has since worked as a gifted coordinator at the Clark County Educational Service Center and has been a member of the Ohio Department of Education’s State Diagnostic Team. She is a member of various local organizations including the American Association of University Women and Delta Kappa Gamma. She is a life-long resident of Fayette County.

Norma Kirby, PhD, has been serving on the SPVMH Board since 2000 and is the immediate past president. She is a graduate of Capital University, Miami University, and Ohio University and retired from the Miami Trace Local School District in 2009 after serving 35 years in the capacity of teacher and elementary principal. Norma is an active volunteer for the Fayette County Food Pantry, the Fayette County Memorial Hospital Foundation, the Alpha Delta State Ohio Educational Foundation, and other community organizations. Norma has made her home in Fayette County since 1974 and has been married to Mitchell Kirby for 30 years.

Marsha Rulon first became interested in mental health while reading about it in high school and continued learning about the subject through training and experience as a crisis volunteer for SPVMHC. She has been a board member since 1983 and is the current president. She has lived most of her life in Fayette County and is a graduate of Washington High School. Marsha has the distinction of being a member of the first graduating class of Southern State Community College and is retired from General Electric. She is a member of Crossroads Christian Church where she is a Sunday school teacher and has been an active poll worker for the Fayette County Board of Elections.

Fonda Fichthorn
http://www.recordherald.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/27/2017/05/web1_Fonda.jpgFonda Fichthorn

Marsha Jo Rulon
http://www.recordherald.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/27/2017/05/web1_Marsha.jpgMarsha Jo Rulon

Norma Kirby
http://www.recordherald.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/27/2017/05/web1_Norma.jpgNorma Kirby

Submitted article

No posts to display