Paint Valley ADAMH Board announces Write In Red scholarship contest winners


The Paint Valley ADAMH Board understands the importance of providing a drug and alcohol-free environment for our community. During Red Ribbon Week, Oct. 24-28, a Write In Red – Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest was conducted for all middle and high school students in our board region.

Students were given a red pen to write an essay for our contest about how to prevent drug and alcohol abuse. Each participating middle and high school submitted their school’s winning essay to the Paint Valley ADAMH Board. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university.

We are pleased to announce that the following students were awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s essay contest and a $500 scholarship for winning the county contest:

– Harley Dawson, Washington C.H. High School – Fayette County

– Sara Newsome, Hillsboro Middle School – Highland County

– Kayla Welch, Westfall Middle School – Pickaway County

– Hailey Hauck, Waverly High School – Pike County

– Kayla Crowe, Southeastern High School – Ross County

Paint Valley ADAMH Board Associate Director Penny Dehner said, “This is the third year for our scholarship contest and we were extremely pleased with the number of entries we received. Substance abuse is a community issue that affects all of us, especially our youth. It is so refreshing to see our youth take a proactive stand against drug and alcohol abuse by sharing their personal stories, doing research into relevant issues, and their determination to remain drug free.”

The following students were school winners and awarded $100 for the Write In Red Essay Contest:

– Alexa Perez, Washington C.H. Middle School

– Emily Smithson, Fairfield High School

– Cody Ayers, Fairfield Middle School

– Emily Parker, Greenfield High School

– Braden Wright, Greenfield Middle School

– Nathaniel Trent, Hillsboro High School

– Alexis Jones, White Oak High School

– Katelyn Everhart, White Oak Middle School

– Emma Whitmore, Circleville High School

– Austin Nunemaker, Westfall High School

– Emma Brunner, Eastern High School

– Mady Martin, Eastern Middle School

– John Bruce, Piketon Middle School

– Lauren Ward, Waverly Middle School

– Brynna Guthrie, Adena High School

– Lydia Yates, Adena Middle School

– Kayla Daniels, Chillicothe High School

– Harrison Meyers, Chillicothe Middle School

– Caley Machelle Uhrig, Huntington High School

– Kailee Conn, Huntington Middle School

– Walker Zapata, Southeastern Middle School

– Abbey Mohan, Unioto High School

– Nathan Rogers, Zane Trace High School

Providing help and offering hope for the residents of Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike and Ross counties since

1967, for more information please contact the Paint Valley ADAMH Board at 740-773-2283 or visit the website at

Submitted article

No posts to display