Peterson elected Ohio Senate President Pro Tempore


Members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus unanimously elected State Sen. Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) Tuesday to serve as president pro tempore of the Ohio Senate for the 132nd General Assembly.

Peterson will officially assume his role as president pro tempore – the chamber’s number two position – on Wednesday, Jan. 4 along with Senate President-Elect Larry Obhof (R-Medina), Sen. Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as majority floor leader, and Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville), who was reelected as majority whip.

“I am humbled that my colleagues have chosen me to serve as president pro tempore of the Ohio Senate,” said Peterson. “Ohio has come a long way, but we must remain diligent in our efforts to improve the state’s business climate and promote job creation, which benefits Ohio families.”

Sen. Peterson has served in the Ohio Senate since 2012. He currently chairs the Senate Ways and Means Committee, which oversees legislation that affects state and local government revenues as well as tax collection.

Before coming to the Ohio Senate, Peterson served a term in the House of Representatives and 14 years as a Fayette County Commissioner. A lifelong farmer, Peterson and his wife, Lisa, continue to operate their family farm in Fayette County where they live with their three children, Sarah, Hannah and Todd.

Sen. Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses all of Medina, Ashland and Richland counties as well as portions of Holmes County.

State Sen. Bob Peterson Sen. Bob Peterson
State Sen. will serve as Ohio Senate president pro tempore

Staff reports

No posts to display