Election draws near


The Fayette County Board of Elections has reached close to 800 absentee voters for the general election as of Thursday afternoon.

“We’re here,” said Fayette County Board of Elections Director Jamie Brooks. “We are here Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and then Monday until 2 p.m.. We just want Fayette County voters to come out and vote, we’d love to see everyone. We have a really great track record of returned absentee ballots. When someone gets one here, we tend to get it back, so we’re pretty proud of that.”

The Board of Elections will be open Friday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Saturday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Sunday from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., and the final day for early voting is Monday from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.. The polls are open starting at 6:30 a.m. on Tuesday – Election Day – and remain open until 7:30 p.m..

All voters who are in line at closing time each day will be allowed to vote.

The local ballot will include several contested races, including the Washington Court House City Council, village offices and township offices.

In the City of Washington C.H., incumbents Jimmy D. Chrisman and Steven R. Jennings will run for city council along with challengers Trent Dye, Kendra M. Redd-Hernandez and Anthony Jay Yahn. Three will be elected from that group of five. Ben Roby, the current city council chairman, is not seeking another term.

With three spots to fill, three are running for positions on the Washington City Schools Board of Education. Incumbents N. Craig Copas and Jennifer Lynch as well as newcomer James A. Teeters are all running. Incumbent Mark Chrisman is not running again, according to the board of elections.

With two spots open, only two candidates are running for the Miami Trace Local Schools Board of Education: incumbents Charlie Andrews and Bruce Kirkpatrick.

In the Village of Jeffersonville, Bob Kinzer will run against David J. Krupla III, the incumbent, for mayor.

In the Village of Bloomingburg, two out of a group of four will be elected to the village council. Michael S. Baker and John David Scurlock will run along with incumbents Donald L. Fleak and Virgil Jones.

One will be elected as a Jasper Township Trustee between incumbent Richard Anders and Tyler Kingery.

Two are vying for the office of Paint Township fiscal officer: incumbent Richard D. Barton and Tonya D. Fleak.

In Wayne Township, trustee James W. Cooper isn’t running for another term as trustee, however, he is running for the township’s fiscal officer position against incumbent Cindy Seaton. This leaves one trustee position open with David Batson and Jarrod Posey vying for the spot.

Along with the local races, there will be three State of Ohio ballot measures that voters will decide. Issue 1 would create a bipartisan redistricting commission to draw state legislative districts, and Issue 2 seeks to prohibit initiatives that would create market monopolies.

Voters will also decide whether or not Ohio will become the first state east of the Mississippi River to legalize marijuana. Issue 3, if approved by voters, will legalize the limited sale and use of recreational and medicinal marijuana use, and create 10 facilities with exclusive rights to commercially grow the drug.

According to Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted, if Issue 2 passes, it would invalidate Issue 3.

Fayette County residents came out to the Fayette County Board of Elections despite the rain Tuesday to vote early for the November general election.
http://www.recordherald.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/27/2015/10/web1_vote.jpgFayette County residents came out to the Fayette County Board of Elections despite the rain Tuesday to vote early for the November general election.
Many voters cast their ballots before Tuesday

By Kellee Bonnell

[email protected]

Reach Kellee Bonnell at (740) 313-0355 or on Twitter @newskelleebee.

No posts to display