NHUMW holds meeting


Members of the New Holland United Methodist Women assembled at the New Holland United Methodist Church for their Oct. 6 meeting. President Ann Thompson welcomed all and Nancy Davis gave the devotions: “The Most Powerful of all Four Letter Words.” Matthew 7: 7, 8. This was followed by prayer.

Godwin Apaliyah, Fayette County Economics & Community Director, gave an outstanding program explaining what all the Fayette County Economic & Community program does for Fayette County and how building a good relationship with business and local community is so important. He also shared about his life growing up in another country and how coming to America has been wonderful for him and his family.

Cheryl McFadden, secretary, read the minutes of the Sept. 1, 2015 meeting. Pat Taylor, treasurer gave the treasurer’s report.

Everyone who helped in any way with the Senior Day Out was given a big thank you and several notes of thanks from those who attended were read.

Pat Taylor presented the new reading books for this year and members selected the books to be ordered.

The next Lion’s Club dinner will be Nov. 5. Help is needed for this project.

Jodi Kirkpatrick, chairman of the nomination committee presented the 2016 slate of officers. President, Ann Thompson, vice president, Kay Oughterson, secretary, Cheryl McFadden, treasurer, Pat Taylor, spiritual growth, Janet Kirkpatrick, education/interpretation Karen Rice, membership nurture & outreach, Pat Overly, program resources, Betsy McFadden, nominations committee, Jodi Kirkpatrick, Nancy Davis, communication coordinator, Ann Thompson, historian, Shelli Seymour and Sunshine, Pat Taylor.

It was announced that the District UMW meeting will be Oct. 17. Capital Area South District United Methodist Women Annual Meeting will be at Livingston Avenue United Methodist Church, 200 E. Livingston Ave., Columbus, Ohio from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Cost is $12.

The church is not having the ham and turkey dinner in November this year.

Delicious refreshments were served by Janet Kirkpatrick and Ann Thompson.

The next meeting, Nov. 3, will be at the church at 2:30 p.m. The program will be on “World Thank Offering.” Hostesses will be Kay Oughterson and Kerrie Black. On Dec. 2 the annual Christmas Celebration Supper will be at the home of Ann Thompson. Social Hour will start at 6:30 p.m. with dinner being served at 7 p.m.

The 2016 officers will be installed and devotions and program will be presented by Kay Oughterson. Hostesses for the evening will be Jodi Kirkpatrick, Helen Ruff, Kay Oughterson, Jane Ann Garrison, Ivy Pursell, Kathy Stinson and Doris Rowland.

Submitted article

No posts to display