Local quartet honored by AP

WHS’ Scott Co-Coach of the Year






Three high school basketball players and one coach from Fayette County have received recognition for their efforts for the 2018-19 season.

The All-Southeast District basketball teams were chosen by sports writers from Associated Press-affiliated newspapers in the district.

Washington High School senior Evan Upthegrove was named Second Team, All-District.

Upthegrove averaged 12.6 points, 5.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 2.1 steals per game this season for the Blue Lions.

Washington senior Blaise Tayese was named Third Team, All-District by the sports writers.

Tayese averaged 8.9 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.9 steals for Washington.

First-year head coach Connor Scott was voted Co-coach of the Year in the District.

Scott led a turnaround for the Blue Lions from winning three games in the 2017-18 season to a final record this year of 15-9.

The Blue Lions finished in a three-way tie for second place in the Frontier Athletic Conference (along with Jackson and McClain) with a record of 6-4.

Washington also made its first trip to the Convocation Center in Athens to play in the District tournament since 2010

Veteran coach Joe B. Stewart returned to his alma mater in 2018 and led a resurgence in McClain basketball with a final record of 15-8. He was named Co-coach of the Year.

From Miami Trace High School, junior Kyler Conn was named Special Mention, All-SE District.

Conn averaged 6.8 points and 3.1 assists for the Panthers.


2018-19 Southeast Ohio

All-District Boys Basketball Team


First Team

Cam Evans, Chillicothe Zane Trace, 6-0, Jr., 25.2; Evan Conley, Lancaster Fairfield Union, 6-0, Sr., 18.2; Elijah Williams, Athens, 5-9, Sr., 8.0; Seth Dennis, Vincent Warren, 6-2, So., 13.9; Devin Carter, Greenfield McClain, 6-3, Sr., 16.8; Ethan Heller, Thornville Sheridan, 6-1, Sr., 21.5; Gavin Arbaugh, McArthur Vinton County, 6-0, Jr., 17.0; Cooper Donaldson, Jackson, 6-3, Sr., 17.6

Player of the Year: Ethan Heller, Thornville Sheridan

Co-Coaches of the Year: Joe B. Stewart, Greenfield McClain; Connor Scott, Washington

Second Team

Cory Call, Gallipolis Gallia Academy, 6-2, Sr., 12.9; Jordan Lambert, Bidwell River Valley, 6-5, So., 15.1; Evan Upthegrove, Washington, 6-0, Sr., 12.6; Isaac Ward, Circleville Logan Elm, 5-8, So., 14.8; Riley Gibson, Circleville, 5-10, So., 16.7; Noah Nichols, Vincent Warren, 6-0, Sr., 14.7; Cobe Marquez, Waverly, 5-10, Sr., 12.0; Ethan Watson, Hillsboro, 6-1, Sr., 15.0; Grant Heileman, Thornville Sheridan, 6-7, Sr., 13.5; Caleb Wallis, Jackson, 5-7, Jr., 14.5

Third Team

Justin McClelland, Gallipolis Gallia Academy, 6-2, Sr., 11.0; Nick Nesser, Chillicothe Zane Trace, 6-6, Jr., 12.2; Isaac Little, Chillicothe Unioto, 5-10, So., 13.5; Houston Harrah, Lancaster Fairfield Union, 6-5, Jr., 11.6; Blaise Tayese, Washington, 6-2, Sr., 8.9; Jason Sailor, Circleville Logan Elm, 5-10, So., 10.5; Justin Hynes, Athens, 6-3, Sr., 8.8; Clay Miller, Vincent Warren, 6-4, Sr., 11.5; Austin Witucky, Marietta, 6-1, Sr., 11.0; Cody Remington, Waverly, 5-10, Sr., 11.0; Dalton Mischal, Greenfield McClain, 6-3, Jr., 12.6; Logyn Ratliff, New Lexington, 6-1, So., 13.3

Special Mention

Caleb Henry, Gallipolis Gallia Academy; Colby Swain, Chillicothe Zane Trace; Triton Davidson, Chillicothe Zane Trace; Cameron DeBord, Chillicothe Unioto; Chase Poston, Lancaster Fairfield Union; Kyler Conn, Miami Trace; Jay Wyman, Williamsport Westfall; Logan Maxfield, Athens; Derek Duckworth, Marietta; Trey Robertson, Waverly; Ethan Cockerill, Greenfield McClain; Luken Hill, Thornville Sheridan; Eli Griffith, McArthur Vinton County; Treylan Davis, Jackson




WHS’ Scott Co-Coach of the Year