Two Panthers receive All-Ohio honors

By Chris Hoppes -

Blake Pittser

Blake Pittser

DeAndre Pettiford

Two basketball players from Miami Trace High School have received All-Ohio recognition from the Associated Press.

Senior Blake Pittser was named Special Mention, All-Ohio in Division II.

Pittser averaged 11.9 points, 4.3 assists and 2.1 steals per game for the Panthers, who went 19-3 during the regular season and won the final-ever South Central Ohio League championship with a record of 13-1.

Pittser had a field goal percentage of 47. He shot 43 percent from three-point range and 80 percent from the free throw line.

Senior DeAndre Pettiford was named Honorable Mention, All-Ohio.

Pettiford averaged 13.4 points, 6.2 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 2.6 steals per game.

He shot 41 percent from the field, 26 percent from behind the three-point line and 65 percent from the foul line.

The Panthers went 2-1 in the tournament, winning the Sectional title, 44-37 over the Washington Blue Lions.

In the District tournament in Athens, Miami Trace played Athens High School in the semifinals, winning 62-53.

The Panthers fell in the District finals, 42-40 to Fairfield Union.

Fairfield Union lost in the Regional semifinals to Columbus Eastmoor Academy, 55-37.

Eastmoor won the Regional title, 69-48 over Vinton County.

Eastmoor Academy (22-6) plays today in the State semifinals against Wauseon (26-1).

In the other Division II State semifinal, Akron St. Vincent St. Mary (23-5) goes against Trotwood-Madison (26-2).

The boys Division II State championship game is Saturday at 10:45 a.m. in Columbus.


The 2016-17 Associated Press Division II All-Ohio boys basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel.

By The Associated Press

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — The 2016-17 Associated Press Division II All-Ohio boys basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average):


First Team:

Taevion Kinsey, Columbus Eastmoor Academy, 6-foot-4, junior, 15.8 points per game; Parker Black, Byesville Meadowbrook, 6-3, sr., 13.9; Jayvon Graves, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, 6-2, sr., 21.6; Dwayne Cohill, Parma Heights Holy Name, 6-2, jr., 22.9; Jayrese Williams, Sandusky, 6-0, sr., 23.1; Ridge Young, Circleville Logan Elm, 6-1, sr., 26.6; Torrey Patton, Trotwood-Madison, 6-4, sr., 20.6; R.J. Sunahara, Bay Village Bay, 6-6, jr., 23.3; Brett Lauf, Napoleon, 6-1, sr., 25.9; Chris Jackson, Dayton Dunbar, 6-2, sr., 16.4.

Second Team:

Charles Reeves, Steubenville, 6-6, sr., 14.7; Mason Lydic, Peninsula Woodridge, 6-1, jr., 18.4; Sam Hitchcock, Jefferson Area, 6-5, sr., 24.0; Jay Kaufman, Ottawa-Glandorf, 6-4, jr., 18.6; Tristan Bartoe, McArthur Vinton County, 5-10, sr., 19.0; Corry Long, Cincinnati Hughes, 6-3, sr., 19.7; Austin Rotroff, Wauseon, 6-9, jr., 12.2; Griffin Lutz, Athens, 6-1, sr., 19.9; D.J. Hancock, Alliance, 6-2, sr., 18.8; Dominic Laravie, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 6-6, sr., 21.1; Miryne Thomas, Cleveland Central Catholic, 6-7, sr., 17.8.

Third Team:

Caden Sanchez, Columbus DeSales, 6-8, sr., 12.6; Alex Masinelli, Cambridge, 6-0, sr., 19.3 ; Jordan Fabry, Mantua Crestwood, 6-3, sr., 24.4; Deuce Martin, Lorain Clearview, 6-2, sr. 20.9; Wes Vent, Upper Sandusky, 6-3, sr., 19.4; Colin Woodside, Lancaster Fairfield Union, 6-5, jr., 17.1; Lonnie Grayson, Cincinnati Wyoming, 6-1, sr., 21.4; Justin Shipman-Curtis, Columbus East, 6-3, jr., 20.1; Sam Hitchcock, Jefferson Area, 6-5, sr., 24.0; Connor Roesch, Sandusky Perkins, 6-5, sr., 14.5.

Co-Players of the year: Jayvon Graves, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary; Torrey Patton, Trotwood-Madison

Co-Coaches of the year: Ramon Spears, Columbus South; Matt Combs, McArthur Vinton County

Special Mention:

Andrew Koenig, Plain City Jonathan Alder; CJ Prater, Whitehall-Yearling; Michael Karl, New Philadelphia; Jordan Work, McConnelsville Morgan; Logan Wolverton, Byesville Meadowbrook; Michael Scarnecchia, St. Clairsville; Pete Nance, Richfield Revere; KeShun Jones, Streetsboro; Anthony Howell, Youngstown Ursuline; Andrew Carbon, Struthers; Andrew Brady, Alliance Marlington; Marlon Moore, Cleveland Benedictine; Blake Pittser, Miami Trace; Branden Maughmer, Chillicothe; Logan Swackhammer, Chillicothe Unioto; Cade Marquez, Waverly; Chase Weihl, Vincent Warren

Honorable Mention:

Gavin Brown, Carroll Bloom-Carroll; Denton Jacob, Heath; Kyle Matoszkia, Johnstown-Monroe; Dezujuwann Robinson, Columbus South; Dibaji Walker, Columbus Independence; Justin Cork, Byesville Meadowbrook; Justin Heacock, New Concord John Glenn; Connor Wright, Minerva; Connor McGuire, Gnadenhutten Indian Valley; Chase Wilcox, Lisbon Beaver; Dre Norman, McConnelsville Morgan; Drake Novak, Rayland Buckeye; Matthew Francesconi, Tallmadge; Anise Algahmee, Youngstown Ursuline; Chris Muir, Cortland Lakeview; Jonathan Williams, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary; Aamir Solomon, Akron Buchtel; Braeden O’Shaughnessy, Poland; Braeden Stauffer, Medina Buckeye; Thomas Woods, Akron Kenmore; Preston Clark, Peninsula Woodridge; Marcus Ernst, Ashtabula Edgewood; Luka Eller, Mentor Lake Catholic; Chris Jefferson, Cleveland Benedictine; Isaiah Washington, Cleveland East Tech; Jalen Warren, Pepper Pike Orange; Colin Myers, Oberlin Firelands; Jake Dible, Ottawa-Glandorf; Mike Menendez, Defiance; Carter Bzovi, Wauseon; Tyrell Aijan, Mansfield Madison; Trey Jordan, Ontario; Cade Stover, Lexington; Daniel Unruh, Elida; Lucas Thompson, Lancaster Fairfield Union; DeAndre Pettiford, Miami Trace; Derick Jones, McArthur Vinton County; Seth Barnes, Chillicothe; Dylan Dupler, Thornville Sheridan; Luke Barnett, New Lexington; Kyler Dennis, Vincent Warren; Trent Dawson, Marietta; Zach Loveday, Gallipolis Gallia Academy; Justin Peck, Gallipolis Gallia Academy; Christian Mattox, Pomeroy Meigs; Colin Shaw, Cincinnati Indian Hill; Chris Montague, Dayton Chaminade Julienne; Garyn Prater, Cincinnati Wyoming; Myles Belyue, Trotwood-Madison; Malek Green, Cincinnati Taft

Blake Pittser Pittser

DeAndre Pettiford Pettiford

By Chris Hoppes

Reach Chris Hoppes at 740-335-3611, ext. 1104, or on Twitter @choppes1

Reach Chris Hoppes at 740-335-3611, ext. 1104, or on Twitter @choppes1