12th District Court of Appeals selects presiding, administrative judges

Submitted article

The Twelfth District Court of Appeals based in Middletown has selected its presiding and administrative judges for 2022.

The 2022 presiding judge will be Judge Mike Powell of Clearcreek Township. Judge Powell was elected to the court in 2012. He served as Warren County’s Probate and Juvenile Court Judge from April 2000 to October 2012, and worked as a Warren County assistant prosecuting attorney from December 1979 until April 2000.

As presiding judge, Judge Powell will preside over all court sessions and meetings of the court en banc. He will generally serve as the face of the Court of Appeals during 2022.

The 2022 administrative judge will be Judge Robin N. Piper of Hanover Township. Judge Piper was elected to the court in 2011. He served as the elected prosecutor for Butler County for over 10 years. Prior to being elected prosecutor, Judge Piper was an assistant prosecutor for nearly 14 years.

As administrative judge, Judge Piper will be responsible for supervising the administration, docket and calendar of the court. He will also serve as presiding judge in Judge Powell’s absence.

The Twelfth District Court of Appeals was created in 1981 and serves eight Ohio counties: Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Clermont, Fayette, Madison, Preble and Warren. The other judges on the court are Judge Stephen W. Powell of West Chester, Judge Robert A. Hendrickson of Monroe, and Judge Matthew R. Byrne of Deerfield Township.

Submitted article