Tuesday’s election sees 26 percent voter turnout

By Ryan Carter - rcarter@recordherald.com

Approximately 26 percent of registered voters in Fayette County turned out for Tuesday’s general election.

“We predicted it would be 23 to 26 percent for this type of election,” said Robin Beekman, the chairperson for the Fayette County Board of Elections (BOE). “For a non-presidential election we had a pretty good turnout. Of course in 2020, a lot more people will be out to vote. There were some important races and issues for this election, especially in the city and people came out for those.”

Out of 15,981 registered voters in Fayette County, 4,161 ballots were cast, according to unofficial results from the Fayette County Board of Elections.

In the race for Washington Court House City Council, Jim Blair, Kendra Redd-Hernandez and Jim Chrisman were elected. Blair received 1,414 votes, Chrisman received 1,328, and Redd-Hernandez received 1,327 to Kathie Oesterle’s 1,071 and Jason Gilmore’s 862.

In the Jeffersonville Village Council race, Mary S. Garringer and Sue Burnside were elected with 53 and 50 votes, respectively. Jacob Dawson received 35 votes and Jill Grooms garnered 26.

Duane Matthews won in a close race over Donald Tim Hutchens for Paint Township Trustee by a 139-123 margin.

Also in Paint Township, Richard D. Barton defeated Tonya D. Fleak by a 141-120 margin in the race for fiscal officer.

In the Union Township fiscal officer race, Tom Rambo was victorious over P.R. Marshall by a 274-172 margin.

Union Township’s 1-mill, five-year replacement fire levy passed by a vote total of 284-163.

Although both were unopposed, Charlie Andrews and Bruce Kirkpatrick will be returning to the Miami Trace Local School District Board of Education. Andrews received 1,278 votes and Kirkpatrick received 1,173.

Reach Ryan Carter at 740-313-0352.

By Ryan Carter