Contract for township paving agreed upon

By Jennifer Woods -

During a recent Fayette County Commissioners’ meeting, bids were accepted for the Fayette County Township Paving Program and Cox Paving’s bid was the only one received.

The bid from Cox Paving was in the amount of $538,804.86. The county engineer’s estimate was $496,645.60. By recommendation of Fayette County Engineer Steve Luebbe, the bid was accepted and a contract was entered into.

In other recent business, there was an amendment to a purchase agreement that had been made with BSTP Midwest—a Delaware Limited Liability Company—in order to extend the due diligence period agreement. The extension goes through July 22 for the sale of approximately 7.12 acres located at 12356 Old US Highway 35 in Octa.

As requested by Faye Williamson, director of Fayette County Department of Job and Family Services (FCDJFS), a sub-grant agreement was entered into. The agreement is between the commissioners, the FCDJFS, the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services and the Ohio Department of Medicaid.

The agreement was for the state fiscal years 2020 and 2021 and established the terms and conditions for FCDJFS funding for July 1 through June 30 of 2021.

A resolution was adopted that would authorize $5,447 as participating local funds to be appropriated to the Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC). These funds are to be used as part of the OVRDC budget for the fiscal year 2020—beginning on Jan. 1 of that year.

OVRDC is a public regional planning commission within Ohio that has the capability of influencing the future economic, physical and social development of its 12-county region through regional development planning programs and technical assistance.

The commissioners, as explained in the resolution, endorse the 2019 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy that was prepared by the OVRDC and continues to support the OVRDC’s Economic Development District planning partnership investment grant program with the USDOC Economic Development Administration—which has a performance period between Jan. 1 of 2020 and Dec. 31 of 2020.

Stay with the Record-Herald weekly for more updates from the Fayette County Commissioners. The Fayette County Commissioners’ Office is located at 133 S. Main St., suite 401 in Washington Court House and their office hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4p.m. They can be reached at 740-335-0720.

Reach Jennifer Woods at 740-313-0355.

By Jennifer Woods