SSCC Respiratory Care celebrates graduation

Submitted article

Southern State Community College’s 12th graduating class in the respiratory care program was honored during a Dec. 8 ceremony on the college’s Fayette Campus in Washington Court House.

Program graduates include Chelsea Dettwiller, Ashley Kiley, Lisa Mahan and Jeremy Marburger.

The SSCC Respiratory Care Club chairperson, Lisa Mahan, presented scholarships to first-year students Natasha Holloway, Brittany Woods, Ashley MacDowell, and Kimberly McCarty. Club co-chairperson Ashley MacDowell presented scholarships in the exact amount of their national boards fee to each member of the graduating class.

The Debbie Ewing Memorial Scholarship, presented by daughter Toni and grandson Matthew Evans, was awarded to Ashley MacDowell.

Recognition was given to the following Clinical Preceptor of the Year award recipients: Andy Amiott of Mercy Health – Clermont Hospital; Nick Burkholder of Genesis Respiratory Services; Jackie Dotson of Littleton Home Care Supply Co.; Ron Frei of Dayton Children’s Hospital; Amy Getter of Atrium Medical Center; Rylee Martin of Atrium Medical Center; Jessica Halye of Greene Memorial Hospital; Ruth Ann O’Brien of Greene Memorial Hospital; Bobbie Hampton of Highland District Hospital; Ashley Leininger of Highland District Hospital; Jessica Linder of Miami Valley Hospital; and Courtney Siebert of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Clinical Instructor of the Year was awarded to Nicholas Mullen of Miami Valley Hospital; and Most Influential Clinical Preceptor awards were awarded to Rylee Martin of Atrium Medical Center (nominated by Jeremy Marburger), Ruth Ann O’Brien of Greene Memorial Hospital (nominated by Ashley Kiley and Lisa Mahan), and Sarah Wilkus of Atrium Medical Center (nominated by Chelsea Dettwiller).

Submitted article