Fayette/Madison County PERI hold bi-monthly meeting

Submitted article

Fourteen people met at the Commission on Aging for the bi-monthly meeting of the Fayette/Madison County Public Employee Retirees Inc., Jan. 24. President Sylvia Hildreth began by asking everyone to stand and say the Pledge of Allegiance.

The first speaker was Andrew Tinkham from the Office of the Ohio Consumers Council. Tinkham provided the group with Consumers’ Fact Sheets, explaining the reasons to stay with your regular energy choices and what might happen if you think you are making a cheaper choice. After the question time, Hildreth called the business part of the meeting to order.

Jeanne Immell gave the secretary’s report. The report was accepted. Treasurer Connie Watson gave the treasurer’s report. Marilee Peterson audited the treasury from 2017 and it passed perfectly.

Jim Essman didn’t have anything for the legislative report but suggested members pay attention to House Bill 413, which involves COLA, which State Rep. Gary Scherer presented to the house.

All four officers, Sylvia Hildreth, Penny Johnson, Jeanne Immell and Connie Watson, attended the Chapter Officer’s Meeting called by Bonnie Mitchell, District 6 PERI Representative on Jan. 9 at the OCSEA Offices at Polaris Parkway. The focus of the meeting was on the responsibilities of each officer and to share best practices. The president also mentioned that local dues should be made now and so should state dues.

In new business, Sylvia asked the group to sign petitions for candidates if they cared to. Each person had an opportunity to sign for Charlene Powell and/or Ronald Alexander, who are wanting to replace John Maurer, deceased.

Bonnie Mitchell, OPERI District 6 Representative, informed the group of things happening in OPERS and OPERI. The District Meeting will be June 11.

The last speaker was Andrea Bussert from AMBA, which provides members of Ohio Public Employees Retirement System with insurance and services they are not receiving elsewhere.

The next meeting will be Wednesday, March 28. The meetings for the rest of 2018 will be May 23, July 25, Sept. 26 and Nov. 28. The meeting was adjourned.

The members present were Jeanne Immell, Penny Johnson, Jim Essman, Carolyn Essman, Marilee Peterson, Denna Morgan, Sylvia Schneider, Bonnie Beth Mitchell, Luella Puckett, Connie Watson, Sylvia Hildreth and Ron Burkhard.

Submitted article