Susan Dunn selected as ‘Treasurer of the Year’

By Ryan Carter -

Susan Dunn

Susan Dunn

Fayette County Treasurer Susan Dunn has been selected by the County Treasurers Association of Ohio (CTAO) as the organization’s 2017 Treasurer of the Year.

Dunn was presented with the award during the 2017 CTAO Fall Conference on Tuesday in Columbus. Dunn has served as treasurer of Fayette County since 1993 and is the longest-serving treasurer in Fayette County history.

According to a press release from CTAO, Dunn was selected for this honor by her fellow treasurers for her dedication and service to her county and the state association.

“Susan’s leadership, experience and commitment over the last 25 years to her fellow treasurers and to the residents of Fayette County has been invaluable,” said CTAO president Bob Hille.

Dunn has served as the CTAO president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. She has represented the CTAO on the Ohio Council of County Officials and has served as president of the Southwest District Treasurers, as well as a member of the association’s executive and legislative committees.

“I’m so honored to be chosen for this award,” said Dunn.

The CTAO has presented the Treasurer of the Year award since 2007.

In her positions with the CTAO, Dunn has worked with other association members, officers, legislators and other state officials in developing legislation and training programs that help provide added service and protect taxpayer dollars.

Dunn serves as Fayette County’s chief investment officer, promoting the efficient management of the treasurer’s office and safeguarding local public funds.

On Aug. 21, Dunn was sworn in to begin her seventh term as treasurer.

“Who would have thought that back in 1992 when I first ran that I’d be up here doing this seven times,” Dunn said during the swearing-in ceremony. “It just doesn’t seem possible.”

Dunn is the fourth woman to be elected as Fayette County Treasurer. Ida Rothrock, the first female county treasurer and first female elected official in Fayette County, was elected in 1923.

Susan Dunn Dunn

By Ryan Carter

Reach Ryan Carter at 740-313-0352 or on Twitter @rywica

Reach Ryan Carter at 740-313-0352 or on Twitter @rywica