Fayette County voters cast ballots for uncontested races

By Martin Graham - mgraham@aimmediamidwest.com

According to the Fayette County Board of Elections unofficial results from Tuesday’s 2017 general election, several townships, villages and the county school district voted on uncontested races for various positions.

In the Village of Bloomingburg four people were seeking four positions on the village council. Jerry O. Fleak received 50 votes, Tim Bennett received 47 votes and both Carol B. Cramer and Dorinda Brown-Oates received 37.

The Village of Jeffersonville voted for two candidates and a write-in candidate to fill three of four open positions on the village council. Roger Spahr received 94 votes, Dawn Michelle Casteel received 85 votes and the write-in candidate received 10.

Three candidates and a write-in candidate were voted in to serve four positions on the Village of New Holland council. Danny Kirkpatrick was the top vote-getter with 17, both Jack Merritt and Vivian E. Wood received 13 votes and a write-in candidate received one vote.

Incumbent Michael D. Henry received 1,622 votes as the top vote-getter for the three open seats on the Miami Trace Local Schools Board of Education. Filling the other two seats were incumbent David D. Miller I with 1,508 votes and incumbent Rob Dawson with 1,505.

According to unofficial results, several trustee races were uncontested in various townships where two individuals ran for two positions around the county:

In Concord Township, James Garland received 145 votes and Ted W. Waddle received 134.

In Green Township, Ryan E. Corzatt received 61 votes and James P. Worley received 58.

In Jefferson Township, Jeffery Hoppes received 276 votes and Ryan R. Yenger received 262.

In Madison Township, John C. Melvin received 160 votes and Michael T. Miller received 125.

In Marion Township, Chris L. Cottrill received 122 votes and Cody W. Kirkpatrick received 120.

In Paint Township, Kenneth J. Kelly received 177 votes and Scott L. Cook received 165.

In Perry Township, Tommy Creachbaum received 134 votes and Heath D. Smith received 113 votes. Additionally, voters in Perry Township appointed Brenda S. Hughes, with 168 votes, as the fiscal officer.

Finally, in Union Township, Wes Wilson received 383 votes and Maurus Molloy received 369.


By Martin Graham


Reach Martin Graham at (740) 313-0351 or on Twitter @MartiTheNewsGuy

Reach Martin Graham at (740) 313-0351 or on Twitter @MartiTheNewsGuy