Election Day has arrived

R-H to have full coverage of general election results

By Ryan Carter - rcarter@aimmediamidwest.com

Nearly 1,000 registered voters in Fayette County cast their ballots before today’s general election, according to board of elections officials. By the time polls close on today, Ohio voters will have had four weeks to vote during the early voting period that began on Oct. 11.

Polls will be open today from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Those planning to cast their ballot-in person today should remember to bring proper identification, according to the Ohio Secretary of State website.

Although the deadline to request an absentee ballot has passed, voters who have not yet mailed their ballot are encouraged to drop it off in-person at their county board of elections prior to the polls closing at 7:30 p.m. The Fayette County Board of Elections is located at 135 S. Main St. in Washington Court House.

Any polling questions should be directed to the board of elections, 740-335-1190.

The Record-Herald will have full coverage of today’s election results on www.recordherald.com this evening, and in the Wednesday print edition.

Locally, the races and issues are as follows:

Washington C.H. Municipal Court Judge Victor Pontious is facing local attorney, Steve Eckstein.

In the Washington C.H. City Council race, five individuals are running for four open slots: incumbents Ted Hawk, Dale Lynch and Kimberlee Bonnell are running for another term and they will be challenged by newcomers, Caleb Johnson and Stephen Shiltz.

Current city council member Leah Foster will not run for another term and is instead running for a seat on the Washington C.H. City Schools Board of Education. Two will be elected to the school board from a group of five: Foster, incumbent and current board president Ken Upthegrove, Donald Branham, Mark Chrisman and John Minyo.

In Jasper Township, two will be elected from the following three candidates: incumbents Glenn Rankin and Jackie Pursley, and newcomer Chessie Ratliff.

In Wayne Township, current trustees Marie Fetters and Ron Weade are not seeking another term. Two will be elected as Wayne Township Trustees from the following three candidates: Kyle Hoppes, Jarrod Posey and Bob Redman.

Several local issues will also be on the November ballot:

– Fayette County Board of Developmental Disabilities will have a 10-year, 1.75-mill renewal levy for operations, services and acquisitions up for passage in all 25 precincts.

– Also in all 25 precincts, the Fayette County Board of Health has a five-year, .5-mill renewal levy for program expenses and services up for passage.

– In Wayne Township (one precinct), there will be a fire service renewal levy for five years and 1.5 mills.

– The Village of Bloomingburg (one precinct) will have a five-year, 2.8-mill renewal levy for operating expenses.

– Perry Township (one precinct) will have a five-year, 1.5-mill renewal levy for fire service.

– Paint Township (one precinct) will have a five-year, 1-mill cemetery renewal levy up for passage.

R-H to have full coverage of general election results

By Ryan Carter


Reach Ryan Carter at 740-313-0352 or on Twitter @rywica

Reach Ryan Carter at 740-313-0352 or on Twitter @rywica