SSCC announces honors lists for spring semester


Southern State Community College has released its president’s and dean’s list for academic excellence for spring semester 2017.

To be eligible for the president’s list, a student must maintain a 4.0 grade point average while carrying a specific number of academic credit hours. Those who achieve the dean’s list are full-time students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0.

Named to the president’s List from Fayette County are Lindsay Jackson, Celeste Nye, Brandy Smith, Laura Sockman, and Kurtis Sunderhaus, all of Washington C.H.

Named to the dean’s list from Fayette County are Lindsy Aills of Washington C.H., Kiersten Cannon of Jeffersonville, McKenzie Cunningham of Washington C.H., Courtney Curl of Washington C.H., Jonathan Dickson of Washington C.H., Cameron Hartshorn of Washington C.H., Colten Hughes of Sabina, Dusty Knisley of Washington C.H., Zachary Potts of Washington C.H., Amarra Sao of Washington C.H., Justin Stegall of Jeffersonville, Jared Stewart of Washington C.H., McKenzie Thacker of Bloomingburg, Tabitha Urban of Washington C.H., and Blake Wise of Washington C.H.

Chartered in 1975, Southern State Community College offers associate degree programs, certificate programs, bachelor’s degree completion through on-site partnership agreements, adult basic literacy courses, and workforce training programs. With four campus locations—Hillsboro, Washington C.H., Wilmington, and Mt. Orab—Southern State provides close-to-home convenience and a supportive community experience. Delivering on its mission to provide an affordable, accessible, high-quality education, Southern State offers flexible scheduling with day, evening, weekend, online and hybrid courses, and a tuition rate that is one of the lowest in the state.

To learn more, call 1-800-628-7722, email [email protected] or visit

Submitted article